Banded Hairstreak

2013 June 4 Silvery Checkerspot PG CoWalter Gould emailed me a little after noon today to alert me to the emergence of a flight of Banded Hairstreak in his local “patch,” a section of Northeast Branch Trail between Riverdale and College Park in Prince George’s Co., MD.  I had the chance to get home a little early too, so headed out to this area (which is only about a mile from my house) around 3 pm.  By this time, the sunny glade where Walter had found two Bandeds skirmishing at noon was in deep shade, and although I hung around the area for about an hour I saw no hairstreaks.  Other things were flying, though; notably a couple of huge Swamp Darners that easily eluded my net and a couple of Lancet Clubtails that did not.

Exploring a little closer to the creek I found six very fresh Silvery Checkerspots in a clearing with a decent stand of wingstem, as well as a selection of grass skippers (notably Least, Crossline, Zabulon, and Little Glassywing), a superabundance of Little Wood Satyrs (in the grass and, surprisingly, well up into the trees), a fresh flight of Zebra Swallowtails, and a Sleepy Orange.  Azures (presumably summer form Spring Azure) were out in good numbers, too.

2013 June 4 Banded Hairstreak PG CoWalking back to the car around 6 pm I stopped at the Banded Hairstreak location one last time — and luck was with me.  A single Banded Hairstreak, obviously newly emerged, was basking low in the grasses in the last slanting light through the trees.

The hairstreak and checkerspot brought my MD100 total to 59.

This entry was posted in general butterfly news, Maryland Big Year, sightings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

