Westward Ho the Lep Wagons

I had a few days last week in the Portland OR area, where I attended meetings for work over the weekend.  I spent a couple of hours at the end of the day Saturday after flying into PDX, mostly at the trailhead at the Eagle Creek Recreation Area, in nice bright sunshine and warm temps.  It went downhill from there.

Sunday was beautiful, but I was stuck in meetings.  Monday and Tuesday, my “off” days, were both cloudy and rainy — Tuesday especially so, and chilly to boot.  Nice driving and birding days, but I saw a total of three butterflies on both days combined.

My couple late-afternoon hours in the field Saturday were short but productive, yielding four life butterflies for me:  western tiger swallowtail, pale swallowtail (looking for all the world like a b&w picture of a tiger swallowtail, or zebra-tiger amalgam), Arctic skipper, and the truly stunning Lorquin’s admiral.

I’m ordering up sunshine for the next trip (I’ll be back out there next year), and expecting to be jealous of the trip lists coming out of the upcoming Pacific Slope meeting of the Lep Society.

This entry was posted in general butterfly news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

