New Excel Spreadsheet N.A. Butterfly Lifelist

If you’re a Mac user (once a Mac, never back), you probably share my incredible frustration that although Macs have crept up steadily to more than 10% market share, there still isn’t a native Mac application for butterfly life listing.  We Macophiles have resorted to keeping our data on the very clunky NABA Butterflies I’ve Seen List (and some of us watched in horror as those data disappeared during the recent makeover — thankfully, it was quickly restored!) , or the even more problematic Audubon Guides life list function.

Harry LeGrand, working off a template developed by Jeff Pippen, announced on CarolinaLeps last week an Excel spreadsheet lifelist with pretty darn good functionality, and is making it freely available to interested folks.  Click the link to download your copy:  LeGrand-Pippen master butterfly-lifelist

Of course, what we *really* need is the butterfly version of eBird.  Surely some of our tech-savvy readers can help out with that??

Here’s Harry’s original post:
>>Some folks were discussing software for using for one’s butterfly lifelists.
There was discussion about using AviSys to produce a format for your lifelist.
I have AviSys 6, and I tried to use directions provide by David Trently, and/or
others about 1-2 years ago, and I simply could not download the AviSys file —
nada.

So, if you are a klutz like me in terms of downloading, zipping and unzipping,
etc., Jeff Pippen developed an Excel file for personal use. I have edited that
for my own use — such as changing some scientific names and common names, or
moving species around.  So, I stripped the file down to basics — a number
column on the left (needs editing), the Common Name in the 2nd column, and the
Scientific Name in the 3rd column. The 4th column I put Date, for use for the
first date you see the species in your NABA list, the 5th column for Location
(where you first saw it), then “NC” for checking off if you have seen it in NC
(or SC if you wish), and put NABA  in the 7th column, for checking if you have
seen it north of Mexico. Then, you can use the additional columns (H-the end)
for each triplist outside of the Carolinas, such as a 5-day trip to s. Florida
(where I put numbers rather than X in cells).

Of course, one can edit the file as you wish, especially columns D and beyond.
Also, you can easily edit name changes, etc. The list has a few subspecies.
There is a way to add a formula to the file that automatically adds up the
columns for list totals (NC, NABA, each field trip, etc.). You likely will need
an Excel book to help you with that! You really don’t want to have to add up
your checkmarks by hand!

Anyway, contact me if you want me send you the Excel file, as an attachment. It
has about 790 species listed, essentially everything recorded north of The
Border as of about 3 years ago. I don’t want to hear any more complaining about
not having a butterfly checklist for keeping your totals and life lists!!  Too
bad I just can’t put the attachment on this message, but the listserve doesn’t
allow that.  😦

Harry LeGrand
NC Natural Heritage Program
DENR Office of Planning, Conservation, and Community Affairs
1601 MSC
Raleigh, NC  27699-1601
(919) 715-8697 (work)
e-mail: harry.legrand@ncdenr.gov<<

This entry was posted in checklists, general butterfly news. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Excel Spreadsheet N.A. Butterfly Lifelist

  1. Frank Boyle says:

    I have my butterfly and dragonfly lists maintained in AviSys. That was, until I got fed up with Windows and bought a MacBook Pro in December. The AviSys lists worked quite well, and the reports were about as good as any birding software’s multitude of list reports (I must confess I tire of the listers, just want to keep my life list, that’s all). Now all of my birding records, and butterflies, dragons, etc. are “orphaned” with about twenty years’ worth of data! The Windows software developers all say the same nonsense… “Macs are such a small market share, it would put us out of business to develop there also blah blah blah…”

    There might be a way to export my lists from AviSys to excel but I’m sure it’s not easy. After all, the list software folks want you to continue to use THIER proprietary database formats.

    Just sharing my experiences and I feel your pain, Rick!

    Frank

Leave a Reply

